The Clips feature in Switcher Studio makes it easy to repurpose parts of your vertical video recordings for sharing on other short-form video platforms like a Facebook Story. There are three main steps for sharing a clip to Facebook as a Story:

  1. Create a Clip in Switcher Studio

  2. Export the Clip from Switcher Studio

  3. Post the video to Facebook

Jump to:


Creating a Clip Immediately after Recording a Video

When you end a video recording and/or livestream, you can create a Clip immediately, from the Video Completion Panel. Once you see the message, "Congratulations! Your Video is complete," follow these steps:

Step 1: Open the Clip Editor

  • Tap More (below the three dots).

  • Tap Create Clip (Edit).

  • The Clip Editor will open.

Step 2: Trim the video to the desired clip length.

The entire video is shown, surrounded by an orange border, at the bottom of the Clip Editor. Trim the video by sliding the left and right sides of the border as follows:

  • Slide the left side of the orange border to find the starting point for the clip.

  • Slide the right side of the orange slider to the desired end point.

As you move the sliders, you will see the From, To, and Duration fields change to show the start/end timestamps and length of the clip. You can tap the Play button at the bottom of the clip preview to watch the clip at any time.

Note: Be sure to check the duration limit for a Facebook Story. If the clip is longer than the allowable length, you will not be able to post it.

Step 3 (Optional): Adjust the Speed of the Clip

  • If you would like to adjust the speed of the video, tap the orange Speed button.

  • Drag the slider to the desired speed.

  • Tap the Play button to preview the adjustments.

Note: When you adjust the speed of a clip, the audio will automatically become disabled.

Step 4 (Optional): Remove the Audio from the Clip

The Audio setting is part of the Speed options. By default audio is included in the clip. When audio is enabled, the toggle bar is blue, and the white button is on the right. To create a clip without audio:

  • Tap the orange Speed button in the Clip Editor.

  • Tap the Audio toggle to disable it.

  • When audio has been disabled, the toggle button will be white and to the left, shown in the screenshot below.

Step 5: Save the new clip.

  • Tap Done in the top right corner.

  • The clip will appear under the list of clips.

Step 6 (Optional): Rename the new clip.

By default the name of the clip will be based on the date of the recording with a suffix. To make it easier to identify the clip, you can rename it as follows:

  • Tap the original clip name under List of Clips.

  • Tap Rename at the bottom of the window.

  • Delete the existing text.

  • Type the new name.

  • Tap Rename.


Creating a Clip from a Previous Recording

Step 1: Go to the video recording you want to use for the clip.

  • Tap the hamburger menu in the top left corner of the app (three horizontal lines).

  • Tap My Recordings.

  • Tap the recording you'd like to use for the clip.

Step 2: Open the Clip Editor.

  • Tap Clips in the lower left-hand corner.

  • Tap Create New Clip.

Step 3: Trim the video to the desired clip length.

The entire video is shown, surrounded by an orange border, at the bottom of the Clip Editor. Trim the video by sliding the left and right sides of the border as follows:

  • Slide the left side of the orange border to find the starting point for the clip.

  • Slide the right side of the orange slider to the desired end point.

As you move the sliders, you will see the From, To, and Duration fields change to show the start/end timestamps and length of the clip. You can tap the Play button at the bottom of the clip preview to watch the clip at any time.

Note: Be sure to check the duration limit for a Facebook Story. If the clip is longer than the allowable length, you will not be able to post it.

Step 4 (Optional): Adjust the Speed of the Clip

  • If you would like to adjust the speed of the video, tap the orange Speed button.

  • Drag the slider to the desired speed.

  • Tap the Play button to preview the adjustments.

Note: When you adjust the speed of a clip, the audio will automatically become disabled.

Step 5 (Optional): Remove the Audio from the Clip

The Audio setting is part of the Speed options. By default audio is included in the clip. When audio is enabled, the toggle bar is blue, and the white button is on the right. To create a clip without audio:

  • Tap the orange Speed button in the Clip Editor.

  • Tap the Audio toggle to disable it.

  • When audio has been disabled, the toggle button will be white and to the left, shown in the screenshot below.

Step 6: Save the new clip.

  • Tap Done in the top right corner.

  • The clip will appear under the list of clips.

Step 7 (Optional): Rename the new clip.

By default the name of the clip will be based on the date of the recording with a suffix. To make it easier to identify the clip, you can rename it as follows:

  • Tap the original clip name under List of Clips.

  • Tap Rename at the bottom of the window.

  • Delete the existing text.

  • Type the new name.

  • Tap Rename.


Exporting a Clip

Step 1: Access the Clip

  • Tap the hamburger menu in the top left corner of the app (three horizontal lines).

  • Tap My Recordings.

  • Tap the recording with the clip you want to view.

  • Tap Clips in the lower left-hand corner.

  • Tap the name of the clip you want to view.

Step 2: Export the file.

  • Tap the Share button (the icon that looks like a box with an arrow pointing up).

  • Tap Send to Photo Library to save the clip to the Photos app.

  • Tap Copy.

  • You will receive a confirmation message when the clip has been saved to Photos.

Note: If you do not want to use Photos to export the clip, select Open In... from the Share popup to choose from additional options like AirDrop, Email, etc.


Sharing the the Clip to Facebook

  • Open Facebook on your device.

  • Tap Create Story.

  • Choose the video you want to share.

  • Optional: Customize the clip using stickers or the options in the top right.

  • Optional: Tap Privacy in the lower-left corner to adjust the audience and privacy settings.

  • Tap Share to Story.

  • Choose between Only Share to Facebook and Alway Share to Instagram.

Did this answer your question?